jump to navigation

Obviously True Part Two August 30, 2006

Posted by rattazzimedia in Christianity, Church, God, Religion, Spiritual, Spiritual Overview, Spiritual Study, Spirituality, Theology.
trackback

In different settings this week I was involved in discussions on spiritual matters.  Pondering these various discussions afterwards I started thinking about what separates the various people sitting around the table (remembering the instruction of Jesus for all his disciples to be one just as he and the Father are one).  One obstacle to unity that is intrinsically difficult to breach is the various and contradictory things we each hold as obviously true.

We have each come to our separate understandings by the culture we were raised in and our varied experiences.  The crucial spiritual challenge Jesus Christ puts to his followers is to overcome these differences and become one.  Why is this so difficult?  One reason is a principle known in scientific terms as “incestuous amplification”.  If I am standing in a huge tiled space and I speak a word, I will hear that same word echoed back to me again and again.  In the same way if I am among people who believe as I do because we grew up in the same culture then what I say will have “resonance” with them and be echoed back to me and be reinforced regardless of wether or not it is true.  The longer I remain in this “incestuous amplification” environment the more obviously true these things will be to me and those with me.

So what happens when I leave the spiritual “tiled space” I have become so accustomed to?  Well my words now no longer seem to have the “resonance” they did before, wether they were ever true or not.  So here is the challenge: we must each strive to the best of our abilities and with the help of the Spirit of God, to be certain that what we hold as obviously true is indeed so.  This touches on what I blogged on the 27th, the necessity for an authoritative standard, this is what God designed the Bible for.  Now we understand one of the reasons why people confidently say all sorts of contradictory things about the Bible’s instructions.

Our job now is clear.  Sort through all the spiritual idea and instructions we each personally hold as obviously true and determine as best we can which are the truth and which are the result of mere “incestuous amplification”.  Then we can all come together in the truth.  We will then have a firm foundation to build on, share with others and pass on to future generations.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

