jump to navigation

One August 31, 2006

Posted by rattazzimedia in Christianity, Church, God, Religion, Spiritual, Spiritual Overview, Spiritual Study, Spirituality, Theology.
trackback

Some time back U2 released a song titled “One” when I first heard the song I was not sure if they were making fun of a lover or friend who was a Christian or they were actually in support of the spiritual concept of one.  As time has gone on I have come to understand the song as expressing honestly the composers struggle with the spiritual concept.  Listen to the song if you don’t know it and let me know what you think is going on there.

In the book of Deuteronomy Moses tells the nation of Israel “the Lord is one”.  What did he mean by that?  The full answer to that question does not come until the New Testament when we see what Jesus Christ said and did, he said: “I do nothing on my own but speak just what the Father has taught me”.  Jesus and the Father are always on the same page.  If Jesus says something, no need to check with the Father to make sure they are in agreement.  They are always one.  The stock statement about Jesus is that “he was without sin” this is what that means.  Jesus also said: “The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him.”   Just before Jesus was crucified he prayed to the Father for all his followers to be one also.  Are we doing that?  Do we speak with one voice?  Do we act as one?

The Bible makes the point over and over again that it is human nature for everyone to go their own way.  The Bible encourages us to go against nature and strive to be one.  Once again my spirituality without the Bible friends will say “You’re doing it again”.  Once again I will point out how the Bible is unique in expressing clearly this crucial spiritual concept that goes against human nature.  Once again I ask “How do we get this without the Bible?”  The challenge does not fully exist for us until we see the relationship of Jesus Christ and the Father and the results of that relationship. 

What binds us together?  What keeps us apart?  Are we one?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

