jump to navigation

That Doesn’t Apply To Me December 30, 2006

Posted by rattazzimedia in Christianity, Church, God, Religion, Spiritual, Spiritual Overview, Spiritual Study, Spirituality, Theology.
trackback

We are at our best, not when we see how the instruction in God’s word applies to everyone else, but when we apply it to ourselves.  False teaching often has the effect of giving us a false assurance that we are OK.  In other words often we are deceived into thinking that some important instruction doesn’t apply to us.  Let me use myself as an example:  I was raised Catholic and as an infant was “baptized” by having water sprinkled on my head.  This is what I was told from the beginning.  When I began to study the Bible and I came across the instruction to be baptized my initial reaction was: “That doesn’t apply to me”.  It wasn’t until someone specifically pointed out to me that what I had been told was according to a false tradition that came from the minds of men and not in agreement with God’s instruction that I began to correctly understand and see how the instruction applied to me.

I was not convinced the instant I was informed.  I first set upon the task of proving by the scriptures that what had been passed on to me was correct.  When I could not, I had to face my own error and correct my thinking.  Then do the right thing.  I was then baptized for real.  I was baptized according to God’s instruction.  Baptism is something you do when you believe the gospel.  When I was an infant I didn’t know what was going on and so could not ask to be baptized.  But this post is not specifically about baptism it is about the effect of false teaching.  It often causes us to say, when we see God’s instruction: “That doesn’t apply to me”.    

The process of repentance does not end when you are baptized.  Repentance is an on going thing.  Getting things wrong is human nature and getting our thinking and actions in line with God is a life long pursuit.  Everyone teaches error.  Some teachers say: “We are doing the right thing so follow us”.  The problem with that type of thinking is that when those teachers see the instruction to repent, to correct error they think: “That doesn’t apply to me”.  Everyone teaches error.  The teachers should rather say: “Join with us as we strive to follow God’s instruction”.  Always keeping in mind that the instruction to repent, to get our thoughts and actions (and teaching) into agreement with God is something we are never finished with in this life.  It is wrong to think, “That doesn’t apply to me”.

If we’re breathing we’re making mistakes, that is a main theme of the Bible.  Everyone needs to repent every day.  We should all be helping each other with this.  Religious folk should not get the false idea: “That doesn’t apply to me”.  God showed his love for us by sending his son to teach us and show us the path to agreement with God.  The apostle John wrote:

This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all.  If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth.  But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.  If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives.

 My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense — Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.  He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world. We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands.  The man who says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in him.  But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him:  Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did.

Jesus always did what God The Father told him to do.  His teaching and actions demonstrated his perfect agreement with the Father.  This is what we should all be striving for as we strive to walk as Jesus did.  This applies to everyone. No one can say: “That doesn’t apply to me”.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

