jump to navigation

More On Choices January 19, 2007

Posted by rattazzimedia in Christianity, Church, God, Religion, Spiritual, Spiritual Overview, Spiritual Study, Spirituality, Theology.
trackback

We are all completely free to do whatever we want (wether we realize it or not).  We shape our lives by the choices we make.  In the beginning God chose to create the heavens and the earth.  God’s work was very good.  Choices then made by others that conflicted with God’s choices began to move creation away from goodness.   This was the basic thrust of my previous post.  Fortunately though, God did not leave it at that.  God provides a clear cut path back to him for us to follow.  We each are presented with the choice to follow that path back to goodness or remain on the path away from God.  This choice is personified in Jesus Christ.  One more element I want to bring in here is eternal life.  God has made this extraordinary promise to those that choose to believe it.  Our choice to believe this promise is demonstrated to all by following his instructions.  These instructions are not difficult to understand but through the years have become a bit muddled in popular thought by those who choose to turn away from God.

It all comes down to choice.  Do you choose to believe God and follow his instructions?  Do you choose to put the necessary effort into learning what the truth is so you can know exactly what those instructions are?  There is a part for each of us to play in all this.  What has brought about all the death, pain and destruction in this world is disagreement with God.  Each of us needs to make a firm and carefully considered choice.  What do we stand for?  Do we stand for agreement with God?  Do we stand for goodness and eternal life or do we stand for disagreement with God which is death and suffering?  What do we want for us and our children?  Many will say at this point that the choice is not so clear.  It is not clear because of the state of affairs in this world. These voices that have chosen to disagree with God are too often given the spotlight.  This is an important issue.  Each of us, each day must put some effort into learning the truth.  If we just go with the flow of this world we will be deceived by the variety of choices presented to us and pick one that does not agree with God.

God has chosen to place his instruction for us in the Bible.  This is the book that tells us all about God’s plan from the beginning, focusing on the crowning work of Jesus to bring that plan to fulfillment.  Jesus puts this plan into reach for each of us.  If you do not know what I mean by that you should choose to investigate this truth.  Look into the Bible and decide for yourself what this is all about.  Only then can you make an informed decision.  Only then can your choice be informed by the truth.  Only then can you be confident that you have not been deceived and led astray by the “wisdom” of this world.  It does not take much.  Start with a little time each day, read the Bible, ask questions, understand.  Then integrate this instruction in your daily life.

The choice is ours.  God has set before us life and death.  He wants us to choose life.  He has chosen life, eternal life to be in his son Jesus Christ.  What will our choice be?   

Comments»

1. cumby - January 19, 2007

Yes, it’s all about our free will. Jesus sums it up in Revelation 22:17 “And let him that is thirsty come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely.” The word “whosoever” means anyone who wants to. And the word “will” leaves it up to us.

2. rattazzimedia - January 19, 2007

Good comment, thanks

3. Micky - May 4, 2007

About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

Peace Be With You
Micky


Leave a Reply

